St. Marys Guildhall
Search
St. Marys Guildhall
SearchEmailPhone

A must-see visitor attraction

Explore
Type here to add an optional caption

A remarkable piece of history


St Mary’s Guildhall has been transformed into a fun filled family attraction and the best place to visit in Coventry. Located within the heart of the city, experience an immersive interactive experience through our augmented reality digital tours, explore the newly uncovered Medieval kitchen and learn about the Guildhall’s unique and fascinating history.

The medieval Guildhall

The first hall was built in the early 1340s for the Guild of St Mary. It was most likely timber-framed on a stone undercroft. In about 1392, when the combined Guild of the Holy Trinity was formed, a major construction programme started. 

The first hall was demolished. Over a period of about 40 years a larger hall was rebuilt in stone, now the Great Hall, with a complex of rooms built around it. These included a kitchen and ancillary rooms, meeting rooms, a gatehouse and entrance porch. 

The date of construction of Caesar’s Tower, the three-storey tower which is part of the Guildhall, is uncertain. It may have been built during the works from around 1392, or earlier in the 14th century. 

BOOK A VISIT
Places to visit in Coventry the medieval Guildhall
Image credit: Aaron Law
St Mary's Guildhall transformation
Image credite: Andrew Moore

The transformation

The undercroft is possibly the only part of the first hall to survive. The Guildhall that we see today was largely built by the end of the 15th century. 

The Guildhall was damaged during the bombing raids of the Second World War. Caesar’s Tower, which was largely destroyed, was subsequently rebuilt. Damage to the Great Hall roof and the Armoury was also repaired. It is a testament to the skill of the craftsmen that the restorations are difficult to detect.

There have been programmes of redecoration, renovation, restoration, alterations, modernisation, and periods of neglect. The main additions to the building have been the Muniment Room in 1894, and a modern kitchen extension in the 2020s, making it a great place to visit in Coventry. 

BOOK A VISIT
St Mary's Guildhall floor map
Type here to add image optional caption

Find your way around from floor to floor

Get a close up of all the Guildhall’s floors. Download our floor map.

FLOOR MAP PDF DOWNLOAD
St Mary's Guildhall timeline history
Image credit: Jamie Gray

Feeling inspired? Visit our historical Guildhall

Be the first to hear about any news, events, or updates

Still immersed in the history of St Mary’s Guildhall?
Sign up for our newsletter.
cross
Please note: the Guildhall will close early at 2pm on 13th June. Additionally, it will be closed all day on Monday 3rd June and Friday 7th June, for private events. The Tales of Tea restaurant will remain open during these times. Due to unforeseen circumstances, the Kilo Sale due to take place this Sunday, 26th May, at the Guildhall has now been cancelled. Therefore the Guildhall will be open as usual. We are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused.
This is default text for notification bar
Skip to content